Charlotte


A timeless jewelry designer, Charlotte Chesnais makes ingenious pieces that flirt with both jewelry and sculpture.

Charlotte Chesnais created her first piece of jewelry whilst working alongside Nicolas Ghesquière as a fashion designer for Balenciaga, where she designed a multi-cuff that played with proportion and was conceived to be stacked. Midway between a jewelry classic and an inspired reworking, the bangle carried the seed of the Charlotte Chesnais brand: continuous, clean lines, an understanding of the body and a confident singularity. Nearly six years after that first step, she set up her own house in 2015.

«I don’t just design jewelry. My pieces are not merely earrings, rings, bracelets or necklaces, I want to create beautiful objects, with lines that are fluid, dynamic, sharp and disciplined. Unexpected. The jewelry is a pretext, I could just as well be making chairs, tables or forks. As a medium, it provides extra support for my ongoing research into form and use. I like twisting, melting, shaping and constraining. I like to set the jewelry-object against the contours of the body in the same way that I like to create pieces that are always calculated to be on the edge of the classical, the well-balanced, the sculptural. It’s the way in which I rebel against understood order to constitute a family of my own archetypes over time. They are objects which are just as beautiful worn on the body as they are set aside.»

Charlotte

Savoir-faire

«Expertise is fundamental to my work. It translates as respect for both the techniques we use and the craftspeople behind them.»


Creative process

«Before each piece of jewellery there is a hand-made model in a Parisian workshop with whom I have been working since the beginning. I need this close relationship with these remarkable craftsmen, the only ones capable of bringing to life my sketches drawn quickly on a loose sheet of paper or my approximate tests on the body. Together, we look for shapes, we twist, we weld, we hammer. The exchange is essential. It's my favorite part. Without them, the brand would not exist. At least, it wouldn't be so rich.»


Made in France

«All my jewelry is developed and made in French workshops. I need a close relationship with these remarkable craftspeople as they are the only ones able to bring to life my rough sketches on scraps of paper and very approximate tests on the body. Working together, we find forms, we twist, we solder, we hammer. We talk a lot. It’s my favorite time. Without them, the brand wouldn’t exist - or at least it wouldn’t be as rich.»

Savoir faire
Savoir faire

18 carat vermeil

«Vermeil (silver covered in gold) is a precious material that I like a lot. It’s lighter than solid gold, so it means that I can create larger-scale pieces that make more of a statement. A beautiful yet rather demanding metal to work with, it requires its own special expertise. All our vermeil jewelry is made in French workshops by exceptional smelters who I am very proud to work with.»

Note: Vermeil carries a State hallmark and is the subject of customs regulations. In France it must consist of a sterling silver base, plated with at least 5 microns of 18-carat gold.


Sterling silver

«I love combining vermeil with silver. We only use rhodium-plated silver, which is silver covered with a fine layer of rhodium to allow a patina to develop as it ages.»

Gold

«Alongside my vermeil and silver line, I developed pieces in 18 carat gold. As a material, I enjoy working with it just as much for its brightness, as its solidity. Rigid and stainless, it allows me to extend my lines a little further, to play a little differently with forms and curves.»

Note: 18 carat gold carries a State hallmark representing an eagle’s head. Its alloy must consist of at least 75% pure gold. It’s stainless and non-allergenic.


Diamonds

«As I don’t come from the diamond world, I don’t have any hang-ups about using diamonds. For me, it’s a just another material I can use in my work, that’s very beautiful, very bright. It’s another world, I’ve been incredibly lucky to discover it alongside one of the best diamantaires in Paris. Their stones are exceptional, it’s just amazing to work with such extraordinary stones, but I try to retain a certain beginner’s enthusiasm when it comes to using diamonds, so I don’t stick too closely to the established rules.»

Note: All our diamonds are certified by the Responsible Jewelry Council.


Photographer: Ola Rindal

Savoir faire

Your filters setup returned no results

Your cart is empty

ł
Close newsletter
Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter for private preview access and be the first one to know about Charlotte Chesnais’ news and events.

Charlotte


Designer de l'intemporalité, Charlotte Chesnais fabrique des pièces ingénieuses flirtant entre le bijou et la sculpture.

Au moment où elle crée son premier bijou, Charlotte Chesnais travaille comme styliste mode chez Balenciaga aux côtés de Nicolas Ghesquière. Pour lui, elle imagine une manchette multiple jouant sur les proportions, pensée pour se porter en accumulation. Entre la pièce classique et la relecture inspirée, ce bracelet porte en lui les prémices de la marque Charlotte Chesnais : les lignes épurées de la pérennité, l’appréhension du corps et un sens affirmé de la singularité. Près de six ans après ce premier essai, en 2015, sa propre maison nait.

«Ce ne sont pas des bijoux que j’imagine. Ce ne sont pas seulement des boucles d’oreilles, des bagues, des bracelets ou des colliers. Ce sont des objets que je veux créer, de beaux objets justes, aux lignes fluides et dynamiques, nerveuses et rigoureuses. Inattendues. Le bijou est un prétexte. Je pourrais tout aussi bien réaliser une chaise, une table ou des fourchettes. Ce medium est un support supplémentaire à ma recherche permanente de la forme et son usage. J’aime tordre, fondre, façonner et contraindre. J’aime confronter l’objet bijou aux contours du corps, de la même manière dont j’aime créer des pièces toujours volontairement au bord, du classique, de l’équilibre ou de la sculpture. C’est de cette façon que je me rebelle contre l’entendement et constitue ainsi, au fil des chapitres, une sorte de famille de mes propres archétypes. Soit des objets aussi beaux portés sur le corps que posés sur une table.»

Charlotte

Savoir-faire

«Le savoir-faire est primordial dans mon travail et se traduit par le respect des techniques et des artisans derrière elles»


Processus Créatif

«Avant chaque bijou il y a une maquette élaborée à la main dans un atelier parisien avec qui je travaille depuis le début. J’ai besoin de cette relation étroite avec ces artisans remarquables, seuls capables de donner vie à mes croquis dessinés à la va vite sur une feuille volante ou à mes essais approximatifs sur le corps. Ensemble, on cherche les formes, on tord, on soude, on martèle. L'échange est primordial. C’est mon moment préféré. Sans eux, la marque n’existerait pas. Du moins, elle ne serait pas aussi riche.»


Fabrication Française

«Le challenge principal est de produire en série une idée qui demande tant de minutie et qui a été préalablement longuement travaillée à la main pour arriver au bon dessin et équilibre. Toutes les pièces sont fabriquées dans les meilleurs ateliers français et sont ensuite contrôlés une par une dans nos bureaux parisiens.»

Savoir faire
Savoir faire

Le Vermeil 18 Carats

«Le vermeil (de l’argent recouvert d’or) est une matière noble que j’aime beaucoup. Etant plus léger que l’or, il me permet d’imaginer des pièces à grande échelle, plus imposantes. Métal beau mais cependant capricieux dans sa façon, il requiert un savoir-faire singulier. Tous nos bijoux en vermeil sont réalisés dans des ateliers français par des fondeurs d’exception avec lesquels je suis fière de collaborer.»

Note : Le vermeil dispose d’un poinçon d’Etat et fait l’objet de réglementations douanières. En France, il doit être constitué d’une base en argent 925 plaqué d’au moins 5 microns d’or 18 carats.


L'Argent 925

«J'aime marier les tonalités du vermeil et de l’argent. Chez nous, ce dernier est rhodié pour un contraste plus fort, c’est à dire recouvert d’une fine couche de rhodium, il a l'avantage de rallentir le processus naturel d'oxydation du métal précieux.»

L'Or 18 Carats

«En parallèle de ma ligne en vermeil et argent, j’ai développé des pièces en or 18 carats. C’est une matière que j’aime autant pour sa brillance que pour sa solidité. Rigide, inoxydable, elle me permet d’étirer un peu plus les lignes, de jouer différemment avec les formes et les courbes.»

Savoir faire P5 Note


Le Diamant

«Ne venant pas du milieu, j’ai une relation très décomplexée au diamant. Pour moi, c’est un matériau supplémentaire, très beau, brillant, que je peux utiliser pour mes pièces de joaillerie. C’est un monde à part que j’ai la chance inouï de découvrir aux côtés de l’un des meilleurs diamantaires de la place de Paris. Leurs pierres sont exceptionnelles. C’est incroyable de travailler de telles merveilles. Mais j’essaye de garder vis à vis d’elles une certaine fraîcheur de débutante me permettant de ne pas suivre les règles établies allégrement.»

Note : Tous nos diamants sont certifiés par le Responsible Jewelry Council.


Photographe : Ola Rindal

Savoir faire

Your filters setup returned no results

Votre panier est vide

ł
Close newsletter
Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour un accès privilégié à nos nouveautés et découvrez en avant-première toute l’actualité Charlotte Chesnais.